Game of Thrones Lite


While patiently (or not so!!) waiting for book 6 in the “A Song of Ice & Fire” series to EVER come out, I finally caught the first episode of the Game of Thrones TV series. I had been waiting until I read them all, then I was waiting until I had money to buy season one on DVD(which seemed to be never), and then it finally aired on regular TV. Now, I am EXTREMELY glad I did not lay down the money for it! One episode was enough for me. I was sooooo curious, as of course it gets rave reviews, and everyone sings its praises, but I was very disappointed. I could barely make it through. I had also heard that they changed the story a bit later on as well…I will never know…but WHY???! Whatever, I guess. :-/

Now, I will give it praise for its production values….exquisite sets and costumes, pretty good acting, great casting, great atmosphere and locations…but the story loses it for me, after reading the book. SO MUCH IS MISSING!! I get that they have to pare down these massive books to fit time lines and such, and I’m sure they think that they are just skipping extraneous details, but that is one of the things that makes the books so enjoyable….the vivid detail of everything…every little detail takes the reader there…absorbs them into the story…so that you actually feel like you were transported and are invisible in that world, watching it all unfold. The “Outlander” series is also very much like that, but its TV show gets it. While there is obviously a slight pare down there as well, it is not as glaringly obvious as it is with Game of Thrones! I was just stunned at how much they left out! Of course the people who have just watched the show without reading the books would never know it, thus the glowing reviews? I don’t know, and never will, because I like to read the books first. They are missing out big time, IMO. I’m almost 100% disappointed with the way TV shows or movies based on books I love, turn out, but the curiosity to see it “fleshed out”, as it were, is still strong, so I usually watch them anyway.

While waiting to watch the first episode when it aired, I had set my PVR to record the rest of season 1, which ran on network TV here in Canada in a marathon week, but my kids deleted my timer because it conflicted with their basketball watching! 😛 I was a little peeved at first, understandably, but after seeing episode 1 of “Game of Thrones Lite”, I got over it pretty quickly. Oh well….the excrutiating wait continues(come on already George!!) to find out what REALLY happens next, and not what some TV writer thinks should.

5268d25baa4acb1ef4afb4b7543cfd54

Leave a Reply

