Cooking Up A Recipe Book


I have a project on the go, and it is a book of recipes for my sons…for when they fly the nest. I have a few years to finish it, thank goodness!

I have self published two books already, one of poetry and art, and one of photographs, so I decided that instead of just writing down my recipes, I would put them in a mini cookbook of sorts, including pictures. I have book making software from Blurb.com, and they turn out wonderfully.  It will be fun, I said to myself. hahaha.*she says, as if she has the extra time* 😛 When I make a dish, I try to remember to photograph it. Being busy, I often forget to do this, so the flipping book is taking forever! Anyway, I think it is also a good legacy thing of sorts, so I aim to finish the dang thing!

The boys have a few favourites, so those will be included, as well as a few cooking tips. I want them to be able to cook for themselves when they are grown, or impress a girlfriend with their culinary skills one day. 😉 lol

Today I am sharing one here at my blog, since I remembered to take a pic of my lunch today, and it turned out looking as good as it tasted!

I used penne today, but rotini works well, so does bowtie pasta or fusilli….

Recipe serves 2

2 cups pasta

1tbsp chopped sundried tomato

1tbsp real bacon bits

5-6 grape tomatoes, sliced in half, or quartered

2 tbsp chopped white onion

2 green onions, chopped

1 large stalk celery, chopped

1/2 tbsp butter or margarine

3  tbsp crumbly feta cheese

3-4 tbsp. Kraft classic herb salad dressing

dash of garlic salt

dash of pepper

Cook pasta until al dente.

Meanwhile, saute mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, and bacon bits, garlic salt, & pepper in butter or margarine, until mushrooms are cooked.

Add mushroom mix to large bowl with rest of veggies.

Drain pasta and rinse with cool water. Add to veggie mix. Stir in salad dressing and feta cheese. Enjoy. 🙂

Easy Peasy. 😀 Would be good warm, too, methinks…

Pasta Salad with Feta

Sapphyreskye’s Pasta Salad with Feta

4 thoughts on “Cooking Up A Recipe Book

Leave a Reply

