Girl From Mars


Right now I am reading the novel, “Mars” by Ben Bova. It has so far captured my imagination, even though I am barely into it yet. Because it has to do with Mars! A good hard sci-fi read about that intriguing rust-colored world just beyond us.

I don’t really know what it is exactly, about the Red Planet, that so fascinates me, but it does…deeply. It draws me to it. In an eerily compelling way. Every movie about it, every book about it, every image of it, ESPECIALLY the real ones sent back by the probes like Curiosity, I revel in.

Ever since I was a little kid, Mars has captured my imagination. I look for it in the night sky often. I imagine what it might have been like a billion years ago. Did it resemble Earth? Was there, is there, life there? Questions that intrigue lots of people, I suppose.

It is just cold, dusty, and barren. So what is it? What is the draw? Intensely beautiful and mysterious, it holds some secrets….of that I am convinced.

High-Resolution Self-Portrait by Curiosity Rover Arm Camera…click on image to go to Nasa’s awesome JPL website!

Leave a Reply

