Mind Distractions


So, here I am again. Posting something. Anything. It always helped to write in the past, and I finally have a few minutes of breathing room to do so. Even though I should be cleaning my house which has been horribly neglected over the last little while, either because of the busyness, or the vortex of crappiness that has turned me into a spaced out zombie most of the time.

I am making a birthday cake, today, however. My oldest turns 13 tomorrow! A milestone b-day. I want it to be nice. He also shares his birthday with Mr. Robert Plant, who turns 66. Being a huge Led Zeppelin fan, I was thrilled(and still am) with this little factoid. I share mine with Harrison Ford and Patrick Stewart. Zeppelin and sci-fi…two of my most favourite things(are they “things”? pastimes? obsessions? Yeah….obsessions would be the word). The Universe sometimes smiles at me.

So, Happy Birthday to my big sweetie, and to Robert, tomorrow. Two of my favourite men. 🙂 Here is a song for the occasion, courtesy of one of them….

So…mind distractions.  I was thinking about this after my post yesterday. Things that help me cope. Things that distract my mind when it gets overwhelmed. Music helps, of course, but even it can conjure too many emotions. What has been working for me, lately, is computer games that require using my brain. Word games, and games like Bejeweled, where I have to concentrate, and use my mind for moving this to there, etc. There is no room for other thoughts, when I do that. History and science documentaries also completely absorb me. Movies help too. Especially sci-fi/superhero movies. I recently took the boys to see Guardians of the Galaxy. Which we LOVED! Excellent tuneage in it too, just to add to it’s awesomeness! With the exception of a couple songs, it was like Starlord had my iPod! The boys rolled their eyes at me. haha. I didn’t think about my problems for two entire hours. Because those kinds of movies are so visually rich, my mind is too busy taking it all in, while following the plot, to think of anything else. I GO to that other world, and I live there, and it is good.

My little dog reminds me of Rocket when she gets bushy-haired….too funny. I love that.

Especially sci-fi with reading too. I read A LOT when I get sad, or tense. Ok, I read A LOT all the time. Most of my free time, actually. Books are my portable escape pod from reality. I love science fiction for this, particularly. Far out, fantastical, surreal, and full of hard science and physics. Things I have to read with ALL of my mind just to grasp understanding of the scenes unfolding, and the plot. There is no room for other thoughts to creep in when I am able to get in the zone of a good sci-fi novel.

I have two on the go right now, and even as I sit here typing this, I am wanting back into them. Especially this one….

Can hardly put it down.

2 thoughts on “Mind Distractions

Leave a Reply

