Something Old Is New Again….


Obssessed with Outlander? Who me?! Maybe a wee bit, aye. ;D

Finished book 8 in what is record time for me, since I don’t have massive chunks of time to devote to reading. Every spare moment, though, and into the night, were spent wandering within it’s world. So satisfying. And the ending…. *sigh*. Perfect. The series could end right there, but there is a hunger left for a continuation, and the eager wait for book 9, likely to be released some 4 to 5 YEARS(ack!) from now! That is maddening! It is like not eating chocolate for 5 years! lol

So, after finishing the last, and having been completely absorbed in it….it being my refuge(because I can get so absolutely lost in it…like I transported) from all anxieties and stresses, and my sometimes sadness in the “real world”…. I pined for it. I picked up the new Stephen King book, Mr. Mercedes, which I had on hold. I am currently reading it now, but always with a longing for the pages of Outlander. Missing Claire, Jamie, Bree and Roger, and many others. Missing the feeling of “being there”, peeking into their lives….feeling what they feel, seeing what they see, absorbing their surroundings, tasting the hot buttered toast! 😛

So, a few days ago, I had a thought. I gazed at my other e-reader( I have the last two books in the series on my Kindle), which is home to books 1 through 7 of Outlander. The TV series premieres here in Canada on August 24…August 9 in the U.S.(LUCKY!). It is definitely something to look forward to, and more immersion….hopefully for years….into a visual world of Eighteenth Century Scotland, France, and America. More importantly tagging along after Jamie and Claire again. But I miss it NOW! And that wait is long too. Anyway…where was I….oh yeah…I drifted towards my Sony Reader. Opened Outlander Book One. Tasted a few pages. Loved it. It felt new again. Still page turner-ish. Now I am a quarter into it, alternating it with my other reads. It is like going somewhere comfortable, somewhere familiar. It is fresh again, but in a way that has a different flavour than the first time I read it. I KNOW what will happen to them….not just in 1743, but way up into the 1770s. But that knowledge doesn’t spoil it upon second read…it just makes it interesting in a whole new way….

Leave a Reply

